A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird) | bk 1 | by Claudia Gray

Hey Everyone, I’m so glad that I’m getting to review this book to you after many days.

I am sorry for not typing for days due to my busy schedule. I believe that I might not be posting in a while after this cause of school starting soon so don’t bring your hopes to high for now.

Now let’s get reviewing!!!


Background

‘Marguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their groundbreaking achievements. Their most astonishing invention, called the Firebird, allows users to jump into multiple universes—and promises to revolutionize science forever. But then Marguerite’s father is murdered, and the killer—her parent’s handsome, enigmatic assistant Paul— escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite refuses to let the man who destroyed her family go free. So she races after Paul through different universes, always leaping into another version of herself. But she also meets alternate versions of the people she knows—including Paul, whose life entangles with hers in increasingly familiar ways. Before long she begins to question Paul’s guilt—as well as her own heart. And soon she discovers the truth behind her father’s death is far more sinister than she expected.’ – Goodreads


My Opinions

As I read the starting, I got confused about being in a different body by dimension travelling. So I read the first few pages just in case if I was a fool which I’m thankfully not. So if you get pretty confused by this whole time travelling, oops I meant dimension travelling thing, then I’d probably suggest you keep reading till half way or more to get a better understanding of this dimension travelling.

So basically in dimension travelling, your not travelling in time but in dimensions. So your energy not your physical body is travelling into a different world and in that dimension’s body. So it’s a pretty interesting and complex concept which I cannot explain in a sentence but read if you want to find out more.

This book is really complex that I just don’t know if I can manage to get my head around it. Because of this, I almost wanted to give up on it but mum told me it’s just a few pages not like the other book I haven’t finished reading. So I kept reading it, and as I am reading it, I slowly started getting better interest in it. So for people who want to get in to the book instantly like me, you have to keep reading it to get into it which kinda sucks but trust me.

Oh yeah I forgot to talk about the genre and content. So this book to me is more Sci-fi and Romance. Sci-fi I mean, it talks a lot about the Firebird which they use to travel through dimensions and all this cool tech stuff which I can’t spoil you anyway. 😉 There is also violence and matured content, so definitely a YA (Young Adult) read.

As I said earlier, the story line is complex but also fused together so well like the pieces of a puzzle. I really like how the story line just flows through from this to that without evening mentioning it. In the story line, there is so many plot twist about the killer being Paul, which is so cool. I really actually don’t want to explain complex things about the story line so just read the first paragraph yourself.

The characters chosen are reasonably interesting and unique. I am going to talk only about the main character, Marguerite Caine. When I read the starting of the novel, she said this is not her body and not her Marguerite I believe. So when I read this three times and the next few chapters I didn’t get what was her real name? How did she get in that body which isn’t hers? How did she get the name Marguerite? and etc. Well I was kinda…maybe terribly wrong about that. Apparently Marguerite is her real name and is always is no matter which dimension she goes into, same with ours if we had the Firebird as well. When she said it’s not her own body, it mean this body belongs to this dimension Marguerite’s body. I hope for those who are confused easily like me can get a bit of understanding right now.

So moving on…

Marguerite is stubborn and adventurous, wanting to do anything to find and/or kill the murder of her father (Henry Caine). During the book she has true feelings for Paul but tries to find and kill him for being the murderer, she assumes by the clues which give more plot twists and etc. She isn’t like her parents who are famous scientist for creating the Firebird, she is into Art but isn’t as smart as them which she already knows. I actually like this main character because she’s willing to save the people close to her, takes responsibility for others (which I won’t explain) and is stubborn.

I forgot to mention this but in the book, there is a lot of world building done amazingly by this author Claudia Gray. She gives detail about different dimensions, their history, geography and landscape etc. I really enjoyed learning about this Sci-fi world building she had created. I think that was the best part about this book which I can’t say no to.


★★★★☆- 4 stars

Overall I rate it four stars because it’s an amazing book with awesome characters, world building and story line.

Note: Just to remind you again, I’m not going to be posting in a while for the next few days and weeks maybe a month. So I hope to be posting in the next holidays.

 

Enjoy!!!  🙂 🙂 🙂

One Comment Add yours

  1. I’m always curious about this book because of its beautiful cover. It’s nice to know it’s worth reading! Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

