Frostfire (Kanin Chronicles) | bk 1 | by Amanda Hocking

on

Hi everyone, I did remember in the last post I mentioned to you about not typing a post during school days. Well because I’m in College, I still have a few days of holidays left till this coming Wednesday. So I finished the book just an hour ago and to this post to you all. YIPPEE!!

Before Christmas, me and my grandma were on a Christmas shopping to buy toys for my cousins and other relatives. So I found this book the Kanin the Complete Chronicles including all 3 books. So I’ve heard really good reviews about it and thought why not read it.

So here I am finished 1/3 of the Chronicles, to review to you all.
So let’s get reviewing!!!!


Background

Bryn Aven is an outcast among the Kanin, the most powerful of the troll tribes.

Set apart by her heritage and her past, Bryn is a tracker who’s determined to become a respected part of her world. She has just one goal: become a member of the elite King’s Guard to protect the royal family. She’s not going to let anything stand in her way, not even a forbidden romance with her boss Ridley Dresden.

But all her plans for the future are put on hold when Konstantin– a fallen hero she once loved – begins kidnapping changelings. Bryn is sent in to help stop him, but will she lose her heart in the process? – Goodreads


My Opinions

As I read it, I found it a bit boring in the start about this girl who wanted to become a tracker and is in the Kanin tribe etc. But as I continued reading throughout the book, I became more glued into the book. That I actually read it four days, which could’ve been less without distractions and commitments.

‘FROM THE WORLD OF THE TRYLLE‘ – Kanin The Complete Chronicles book cover

On the cover of the book when it said that line as shown above, I was so scared to read it. Firstly, because there maybe spoiler from the last series. Lastly, I might get confused about what’s going on. But when I read it, it just explain this Trylle world (not exactly the Trylle but definitely the Kanin tribe/world ) if you haven’t read the Trylle series like me. So I just wanted to let you know about that you don’t have to read Trylle.

Okay, let us get on with the genre and content stuff. I think this book is more romance, violence / action, paranormal and fantasy. I really can’t explain whether it is paranormal or/and fantasy but I just had to put down both in case of anything which could go wrong. I also know that other than violence and romance there is also politics included as well in the book so definitely YA read.

For the storyline, I actually found it a bit confusing. I didn’t really get the main plot still whether it was to kill Konstantin or to be with Ridley. Personally the main plot going on here could’ve been better but hope it improves a bit in the next book. I really like how the plot has many twists to it which is making me want to crave to read more. Still I did enjoy it even though the plot may need to improve a bit more.

In this book there is a huge amount of world building. The way the author describes the tribe landscape of Kanin, it’s history, ecology and landscape etc. I really do like the details that she included in the novel which is pretty fascinating to read about.

The characters were amazing and intriguing. I do like the sidekicks and how friendly they are towards the main character in the book. I also wanted Ridley and her to be together but I really hated this forbidden romance thingy.  😡

moving on….

The main character is Bryn Aven, half Kanin (by her father) and half Skojare (by her mother). She is the only one who is half Skojare and half Kanin in the Kanin Tribe which meant she is the only blonde in that tribe. I really like how she concentrates in her job and follows her dreams no matter what the obstacles she has to face. I do like how she is cool and casual with the people and friends she gets along with. I really feel disappointed that she is less into her family and more to her job which I think is kinda harsh to say.  I think she is an interesting character other than the ups and downs which has to obviously happen because no ones perfect.


★★★★☆ – 4 stars

Overall I rate it four stars because I really did enjoy the world building and characters in the book. Amazing job Amanda!!  Really can’t wait to read the second book of the chronicles.

Enjoy!!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

