Selection (Selection Series) | bk 1 | By Kiera Cass

Hi everyone, I am so glad to be typing a post after a looong time, even though I’ve finished the book a few weeks ago. I am sooo sorry for not typing a post in a while. But don’t worry because I’ve got the book review ready for you all with the Selection series’ first book.

So let’s get to the review. \/


Background

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.Goodreads


My Opinions

As I started reading it, I remembered my first time reading this book two yrs ago, and
I seriously gave up reading it after a few pages just because it was no fun at the starting. I felt the same way this time, so for you all, the starting is okay and/or boring but still try to continue reading it.

For the genre and content stuff, I think the genres are Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy and Dystopian. The interesting thing about it is that the dystopia and fantasy genre just blended in really well and I did really enjoyed that part about it. Also as always for YA readers only and/or early teen readers.

For the world building, OMG, I just loved the description. I liked how they explained the Geography of the futuristic world, the countries, landscape, history and everything was just beautifully written. I didn’t like she had to talk about just War and that kind of stuff because I was just getting pretty bored of it. But my favourite thing about it was the change of the geography in this futuristic world without Sci-fi!!! 😦  I think I have to make this 5 stars for world building!!!

For the plot/story line, I don’t have a great memory on that part of it. But I think I did think it flowed pretty well. I did liked how they have a twist which is that she has to go to the selection (this should obviously not be a spoiler to you all). Overall I liked the plot twist and the flow of the storyline. Yes, I am also sorry on not enough info on behalf of my poor memory.

From here onward includes spoilers

For the main character (America Singer), I think she is fierce, stubborn and rebellious. She always is really short tempered due to her red hair which is basically inherited from her mother. She never gives up and keeps her identity, no matter what the others think of her. She is always kind to the people close to her and even the maids, which most people wouldn’t do. Overall I think she has an really interesting personality and I do really admire her a lot even though my words are not great enough to explain to you all.

I really enjoyed the part when Prince Maxon dared America at the dinner table that if America’s younger sister eats the desert (which the royals give to her) and she starts crying then the America wins and the date is cancelled, and if she doesn’t cry, then Prince Maxon wins and the date will happen. So when her younger sister ate it, and she didn’t cry so Prince Maxon and her have to go on a date which meant that he won. YIPEEE!! I just thought it was hilarious and kinda cute as well.

I didn’t enjoy how harsh Celeste was to her, if she want to be better than her doesn’t mean she had to scowl at her. I seriously wouldn’t want to be Celeste just because she was a model and wearing makeup all the time. What an idiot. But yeah I think it makes the story a bit more complicated than it should be.


★★★★☆ – 4 stars

Overall I think it was a wonderful book. I do enjoy this new fantasy dystopia genres combined. I think it’s a good book to read.

Enjoy!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

