The Elite (The Selection Series) | bk 2 | by Kiera Cass

on

Hi everyone, I was actually pretty bored and not sure what to do, so I told myself why am I reading a lot of books and not even typing any posts at all. So here I am typing the review on the second book of the Selection Series!!!

I just want to let you know that a few days or weeks later I might not be able to type a post unless if I can squish in a bit of my time to do so.


Background

The Selection began with thirty-five girls.
Now with the group narrowed down to the six Elite, the competition to win Prince Maxon’s heart is fiercer than ever—and America is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it with Maxon, who could make her life a fairy tale? Or with her first love, Aspen?

America is desperate for more time. But the rest of the Elite know exactly what they want—and America’s chance to choose is about to slip away. – Goodreads.com


My Opinions

My opinions won’t be exactly typed up due to my poor memory of reading too many books.

As I read the starting, it was just a bit of recap of what happened at the end of book 1. I just couldn’t believe that during book 1 she had fallen in love with Maxon and Aspen. I seriously really wished that Aspen was never her guard. So far the starting is good but still try to read it if you find it boring which I never had.

The storyline was good, all I know is that she is in the competition but she also have to decide who is she gonna be with. I just don’t get that part but still it was flowing and pretty good. I would say that plot was better in the first book but it’s still good.

Yes, world building is still high class. She has put a lot of effort into that part about war, rebellions, geography, history and everything. It’s all beautifully done which I can’t give you spoilers on sadly. 😦

Spoilers from here and onwards

I am so frustrated on why she has to make a big decision because of this Aspen dude. Thanks bro…now I am not happy. I seriously like Maxon, yeah I know about his charms and that stuff but she could change the kingdom in a better way. I just don’t like it when Aspen keeps coming to her room all the time, I just want to kick him out of the way.

Furthermore, what I thought was really crazy was when they never knew about Halloween. I found that pretty disturbing. When America asked what was Halloween. OMG, my jaw just dropped at the moment, and how could they keep halloween a secret instead of as a history? Also, I do like the idea of them having a halloween party which I thought was pretty awesome. I couldn’t believe that the prince was PIRATE!!! LOL!!!  😛

At the ending, I am so glad she made her choice to choose Maxon. But when the King became really harsh on her to making her leave, I felt so sorry for her but yes she is a bit too crazy and stubborn to be a queen. But still I think she would be an awesome queen to making a world a better place. I really never admired the King more than her. But I hope in the last book she does kick him and prove him wrong.


★★★★☆ – 4 stars

Overall I rate it four stars even though it does have okay stuff here and there I still think it’s a good book but the first is better.

Leave a Reply

