Obsidian ( Lux Series ) | bk 1 | by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Hi everyone and welcome back to the second post after a long time.

So apparently my friend told me about this book (Obsidian) from months back. Since then I’ve been looking at all these different book stores and couldn’t find them. Whenever I went to the book store, I look for obsidian and if not there then I melt down. So after a while, I found this book at last, and bought it straight away.

So let’s get to reviewing….


Background

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is. Goodreads.com


My Opinions

At the start, I found it okay when she was giving a description about her life and moving in to her new house but as I continued on to the part where she first met Daemon. OMG, I am trapped and can’t leave this book alone. What has this book done to me?

I seriously enjoyed this novel! Even I have few favourite parts that I am marking up to read again and again. So basically I believe this book is funny, romantic, addictive and awesome!!!

The world building in this book is amazing. The description is well written of the town, history and citizens of West Virgina. Find this world of creepy people staring at others really weird but still great world building.

I like the plot line of this main character Katy (Kat or Kitten) Swartz, who is going through a timeline of discovering these aliens in this small town. I think the book is really well written for us as a young audience to see a normal teenage girl’s point of view in this book. Loving the storyline.

Furthermore, I do like the main character Katy Swartz. She is strong, a bookoholic, stubborn and kind. In the book, it tells us that Katy finds comfort and calmness in gardening, blogging and reading. She cares for her friends and family. I do like it when she is stubborn and trys not to be the damsel in distress like in the books and movies. She is a character I do admire for her friendliness towards Aliens even after she learned the truth about Daemon and Dee being Luxens. So therefore I like the main character.

Also the whole alien thing going on in the book is amazing. For me, I like this different side of aliens who are just basically light or shadow. Oh and don’t forget that Luxens are HOT!!!! Yes I maybe over exaggerating but there are amazing. I know my BFF who has also read this book and doesn’t have that much of an interest in alien or Sci-fi stuff. But overall she enjoyed it, cause this book has more romance than Sci-fi. So for people who want to read books that has romance but not too much Sci-fi in it, then this is the book for you.

Lastly, I think I would ship both Daemon and Katy. They are so cute together even when they both fight. I do think they are an awesome couple even though I hate it when this alien thing comes in there way. I still think they are such a cool couple but I hate it when Daemon started to avoided her and was such a jerk and I do agree that he’s an idiot.


★★★★★ – 5 Stars

Overall I rate it five stars!!! I just love it all including the characters, world, Sci-fi and Romance. I have no words but I think it’s a must read.

❤ ❤ ❤
Enjoy!!!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

